VOL. 9 May ISSUE YEAR 2008


in Vol. 9 - May Issue - Year 2008
The driving force behind FEMS: The FEMS Executive Committee
From top left to right: Wilfried Kurz; George Kaptay; Bart Blanpain; Paul McIntyre; Bill Clyne; H

From top left to right: Wilfried Kurz; George Kaptay; Bart Blanpain; Paul McIntyre; Bill Clyne; H

The real driving force behind FEMS is its Executive Committee (EC). This is responsible for implementing the decisions of the FEMS General Assembly, which are frequently based on its recommendations.
The FEMS President for 2008-2009 is Bill Clyne, Professor of Mechanics of Materials at Cambridge University, UK, His research interests include surface coatings for thermo-mechanical protection, diamond-like carbon coatings, and advanced processes such as plasma spraying. In the EC he has responsibility for the EUROMAT series of conferences and associated databases.
This year’s Vice-President is Sybrand van der Zwaag, Professor of Microstructural Control in Metals at the Technical University of Delft, NL. Previously, he worked for Akzo in Arnhem, on liquid crystalline polymers and advanced polymer fibre spinning.  He belongs to the FEMS Awards Steering Committee and is chairman of the Organising Committee for the FEMS EUROMAT 2009 conference, to be held in Glasgow on 6-10 September 2009.
Robert Singer, the immediate Past-President, is Professor and Head of the Institute of Science and Technology of Metals at the University of Erlangen-Nuremberg, D. He is also Managing Director of Neue Materialen Fürth GmbH. His interests include the development of superalloys for high temperature applications, and lightweight materials. He looks after International Relations, including liaisons with the European Materials Forum and industry.
Bart Blanpain, the FEMS Treasurer, is a professor in the Department of Metallurgy and Materials Engineering at the Catholic University of Leuven, B. His current research interests include extractive and refining process metallurgy and thermodynamic and kinetic modelling of metallurgical processes and interfacial reactions. His key responsibility is the Federation’s finances. 
The other Executive Officers include two who are now into their second two-year term. George Kaptay, Dean of the Faculty of Material and Metallurgical Engineering at the University of Miskolc, H, is interested in surface science in systems containing liquid metals, solid metals, ceramic particles, and bubbles.  He is chairman of the FEMS Awards Steering Committee. 
Also into his second term on the Committee is Dr. Pedro Portella.  A Brazillian by birth, he has worked in Germany since 1980 and is now Head of the Materials Engineering Department at the Federal Institute for Materials Research and Testing (BAM) in Berlin, D.  His work concerns test methods for quality improvement of production processes. In the EC he has responsibility for liaison with member societies and is striving to strengthen links between their technical committees on microstructural characterisation.
Dr. Hélène Réglé works as a research engineer at ARCELOR’s Automotive Research Centre in Maizières-lès-Metz, F, where she is the Project Leader for Crystallographic Textures and Recrystallisation. Having served on the Committee for one year, her key responsibility is for liaison with industry. She will be organising job fairs at Junior EUROMAT 2008 and EUROMAT 2009.
Also in his second year on the Committee is Professor Jan Kusinski from the University of Metallurgy and Materials Sciences (AGH) in Krakow, PL.  His speciality is the microstructure and properties of steels and other metals after laser treatment.  His key area of responsibility in the EC is for Education and Job Opportunities.
Four new Executive Officers participated in their first meeting on 31st March at EPFL in Lausanne, at which the above photograph was taken.  They include: Dr. Brett Suddell, Senior Materials Scientist at Adas Rosemaund in Hereford, UK, who is also Senior Vice-President of the Institute of Materials, Minerals and Mining. His interests include bio-composites, and he will be helping with FEMS News and the website.
Professor Maurizio Vedani, of the Mechanical Department at Politechnico di Milano, I, has also joined the Executive Committee recently His interests include the microstructure and mechanical behaviour during manufacturing and service of metals and alloys, particularly light alloys.  He will be assisting with fund raising and the expansion of FEMS membership. 
Dr Jean-Marie Welter, Past President of Société Française de Métallurgie et de Matériaux is the third new member of the Committee.  He brings a wealth of experience from the copper industry in France, and will be helping with the FEMS EUROMAT series of conferences.
The other new Executive Officer is Professor Dr. Ehrenfried Zschech, Senior Manager of the Centre for Complex Analysis at AMD Saxony, Dresden, D. An expert in thin film materials for integrated circuit applications, he will be helping with the Awards Steering Committee and liaison with industry.
Lastly, the Committee is served by the FEMS Secretary, Dr. Paul McIntyre, who is responsible for FEMS News and the website.  The photograph also includes Professor Wilfried Kurz, a distinguished Past President of FEMS, who was recently awarded Honorary Life Membership of the Federation.

Paul McIntyre
FEMS Secretary

For Information contact:
Dr Paul McIntyre, FEMS Secretary
The Institute of Materials, Minerals and Mining, 1 Carlton House Terrace
London SW1Y 5DB
E-mail: paul.mcintyre@iom3.org